Tutorial Home Expand All
macOS Classes
Tutor for macOS
New Features added in macOS Upgrades
Return to Tutor for Mac

Erase All Content and Settings

Learn how to erase all your content and settings on your Mac.

With macOS Monterey, Apple introduced the ability to easily erase all your content and settings on your Mac. This makes it easy to erase everything you have on your Mac before to sell it or give it away. Learn how to erase your settings and content in this video for the Mac.

Video TranscriptIn this video, we’re going to look at how we can erase all the content and settings on our Mac. This was introduced with macOS Monterey. Let’s go to my Mac.

So I am running Mac OS Monterey on my Mac book air here. And what I would like to do is sell my Mac. Let’s say I want to sell it or give it away to someone I no longer need it.

Maybe I bought a new one, a Mac book. Well, what you’ll want to do before you sell it or give it away is delete everything on the Mac, delete all of your content. You erase all of your settings. Well with Mac OSS, Monterrey, they made it very simple within a few clicks. What you’re able to do is erase all of your contents and all of your settings.

And basically what it does is it sets the Mac up. Like it was straight out of the box when you bought it. So how do you know which Mac OS you’re running? Well, all you have to do is just go up. The apple menu here. And when you go to about this Mac and what you’re able to do is see what Mac OOS you’re using.

So I’m using Mac OS Monterey. Again, you do need to be using Mac OS Monterey or later for this to work. So now how do I erase all the content and settings on this Mac? Well, now that I’m using Mac GWAS Monterey, all I need to do is go back up underneath the apple menu and then. We go over to System Preferences.

When I select this, we have a new window that opens up, but we’re not going to the window. What we’re going to do is go over to our menu bar. When I click on System Preferences in the menu bar, you’re going to see an option for erasing all of the content and settings. All I need to do is just select the.

We have a window that pops up. I enter in my username and password. And once I do that, my Mac will erase all of the content and all of the settings for this Mac book air, it’s basically going to set it up. Like it came out of the box when it was first purchased. So that’s how you can easily erase all of the content and settings on your Mac.

You do need to be using Mac OS Monterey or. What you’ll do is you’ll go over to your System Preferences and then go underneath the menu bar for System Preferences. From there, you select, erase all content and settings. So that’s how you can erase all of the continents settings on your Mac.

NOTE: If you are seeing ads from YouTube and you are a member, log in to remove the ads.

Scroll to Top
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
[class^="wpforms-"]
Skip to content