Back to Tutorial

Mac Tips & Lessons

0% Complete
0/0 Steps
  1. macOS Classes
    3 Lessons
  2. New in macOS Ventura
    7 Lessons
  3. Getting Started with the Mac
    10 Lessons
  4. Menu Bar Lessons for the Mac
    4 Lessons
  5. Dock Lessons for the Mac
    8 Lessons
  6. Finder Lessons for the Mac
    22 Lessons
  7. Manage Applications on the Mac
    19 Lessons
  8. Manage Files and Folders on the Mac
    22 Lessons
  9. General macOS Lessons
    19 Lessons
  10. Preferences or Settings for the Mac
    31 Lessons
  11. Troubleshooting Lessons for the Mac
    16 Lessons
  12. New in macOS Mojave
    12 Lessons
  13. New in macOS Catalina
    19 Lessons
  14. New in macOS Big Sur
    15 Lessons
  15. New in macOS Monterey
    6 Lessons
Topic 11, Lesson 14
In Progress

Forget Wi-Fi Networks that are Troublesome

Topic Progress
0% Complete

It’s easy to end up connecting to a Wi-Fi network that doesn’t provide Internet access, , particularly when traveling. They may require credentials you don’t have, or maybe they lack access to the network’s printer. Unfortunately, once your iPhone, iPad, or Mac has connected to such a network, it may reconnect to it later, causing distress or anxiety when things don’t work. What is the solution? Whenever you realize a Wi-Fi network is worthless, forget it. Have your Mac, iPad, or iPhone forget that it ever connected. 

How do you have your device forget the network? 

  • On the Mac, open System Preferences > Network > Wi-Fi > Advanced > Wi-Fi, select the network in the list (you don’t have to be connected to it), click the – button, and click Remove. 
  • On an iPhone or iPad, when you’re connected to the offending network, go to Settings > Wi-Fi, tap the i button to the right of the current network, and tap Forget This Network on the next screen. 

Once you do that, your Mac, iPad, or iPhone will no longer connect to it.

Skip to content