Back to Tutorial

Mac Tips & Lessons

0% Complete
0/0 Steps
  1. macOS Classes
    3 Lessons
  2. New in macOS Ventura
    7 Lessons
  3. Getting Started with the Mac
    10 Lessons
  4. Menu Bar Lessons for the Mac
    4 Lessons
  5. Dock Lessons for the Mac
    8 Lessons
  6. Finder Lessons for the Mac
    22 Lessons
  7. Manage Applications on the Mac
    19 Lessons
  8. Manage Files and Folders on the Mac
    22 Lessons
  9. General macOS Lessons
    19 Lessons
  10. Preferences or Settings for the Mac
    31 Lessons
  11. Troubleshooting Lessons for the Mac
    16 Lessons
  12. New in macOS Mojave
    12 Lessons
  13. New in macOS Catalina
    19 Lessons
  14. New in macOS Big Sur
    15 Lessons
  15. New in macOS Monterey
    6 Lessons
Topic 11, Lesson 13
In Progress

Disable Unused Sharing Options on Your Mac If You’re Not Using Them

Topic Progress
0% Complete

Learn how to disable sharing services on your Mac if you are not using them.

Many security breaches—even high-profile ones—come from simple oversight. There’s one spot in macOS that has long been particularly susceptible to such lapse: the Sharing pane of System Preferences. In this preference pane, you can enable a wide variety of sharing services. Some of these could allow another user to access your Mac remotely. They all let you limit access to particular users, but passwords can be stolen, accounts can be compromised, and server software can have bugs. For safety’s sake, if you’re not actively using a sharing service, turn it off. The most important ones to disable when not in use are Screen Sharing, File Sharing, Remote Login, Remote Management, and Remote Apple Events. I also recommend turning off Printer Sharing and Internet Sharing.

Skip to content