iCloud Photo Library Users: Do Not Turn Off iCloud

iCloud Photo Library Users: Do Not Turn Off iCloud

You can file this warning under “unless it’s absolutely necessary.” If you use iCloud Photo Library on your Mac, which I personally think is great, I recommend you don’t sign out from iCloud. Also, don’t deselect the iCloud Photo Library checkbox in either the Photos options of the iCloud pane of System Preferences or in the iCloud preferences in Photos itself. Why not? Because, when you re-enable iCloud or iCloud Photo Library, Photos will re-upload all your photos, which could take days. (It’s not really re-uploading all of them, but even just resyncing will take a long time.) Worse, if you don’t have enough space in iCloud for your entire Photos library again, you’ll have to upgrade to a larger plan temporarily, resync, and then downgrade to your previous plan. Apple will refund you the cost of the upgrade, but you’ll have to work with support to get reimbursed.

iCloud Photo Library Users: Do Not Turn Off iCloud
Scroll to Top
FREE PREVIEW 5 of 5

This lesson is free for you to view.

If you find it helpful, please consider joining my membership. It’s how I am able to keep creating these lessons and tips.

Thanks!
Dan

FREE PREVIEW 4 of 5

This lesson is free for you to view.

If you find it helpful, please consider joining my membership. It’s how I am able to keep creating these lessons and tips.

Thanks!
Dan

FREE PREVIEW 3 of 5

This lesson is free for you to view.

If you find it helpful, please consider joining my membership. It’s how I am able to keep creating these lessons and tips.

Thanks!
Dan

FREE PREVIEW 2 of 5

This lesson is free for you to view.

If you find it helpful, please consider joining my membership. It’s how I am able to keep creating these lessons and tips.

Thanks!
Dan

FREE PREVIEW 1 of 5

This lesson is free for you to view.

If you find it helpful, please consider joining my membership. It’s how I am able to keep creating these lessons and tips.

Thanks!
Dan

FREE MEMBERSHIP: Join for 30 days. Totally free. No strings attached.

Noteboom Tutorials

Welcome to my new site!

New name. New site. Same owner. Same tutorials.
It also has new features, including Live Classes or Webinars, as well as new tutorials and lessons.

Are you a current Noteboom Tutorials Premium member? If you are, you get a complimentary membership! You are almost all set. I imported your username. All you need to do is reset your password on the new site.

Skip to content